WordPress Install

I decided to get WordPress installed early on in the week in case there were any issues. I got the webspace from Blacknight. They have a web app vault which makes it a bit easier to install WordPress through the control panel once you have an idea of how it works. Luckily I have installed WordPress through a webspace provider before so I had a rough idea how to do it.

I followed the steps outlined by Blacknight and it worked a treat. They also seem to have really good security measures in place to protect WordPress that I learned about:

  • They create the database for you with random numbers and letters to make it harder for someone to guess your database
  • You have to have the specific FTP url to gain access to the background files of WordPress.
  • Also, by installing it through Blacknight it is much easier to keep WordPress and the plugins updated.

Leave a comment